garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

How do I workout with a gym membership?

If you are like me, you used to think you had to go to the gym for hours on end, lifting weights, running on the treadmill and fighting with those gym rats to get time on the machines in order to get fit.  And that used to be me.  I used to spend 2 hours a day in the gym during college.  But then real life comes along, and when you have a job, and a house, and 2 dogs that always seem to want to go for a walk or play, when is there time to go to the gym?  Plus, in these tough financial times, why shell out $100 or more a month for a gym membership when you probably have everything you need for a great bunch of workouts already in your home!

I have already mentioned that I have done the P90X program, and as I start my second round of it this week, I realize just how good this program can be.  Meghan enjoys yoga, and has found some great programs that give you both the basics and more advanced moves for a in-home workout.  In future posts, we will talk about our workout plans, and how we stay in shape without going to the gym.

For example, for a quick 15 minute workout, try something like this.

Stretch and warm up, do some ballistic stretching, like arm circles

Set 1: maximum reps of normal pushups, set of squats (15-20), jumping jacks (20 or more)

Set 2: chair dips, lunges, mountain climbers

Set 3: maximum rep of military pushups, wall squat (30 seconds), jump rope (or jumping jacks)

repeat these sets 2 or 3 times through

Disclaimer 1: OK, so there is a gym at our condo complex.  It has 2 treadmills, 2 elliptical machines, 1 bike, a universal machine and a set of dumbbells (5-50lbs) with an adjustable bench.  These are all machines that you might have in your house, but admittedly we rarely go to the gym.  It helps in the winter to have a place a run on a treadmill, but as you will see, there are many great workouts laying around your house.

Disclaimer 2: I am not a trainer, I am just someone who likes to workout.  I have friends who are trainers, and perhaps they would be willing to post some blogs in the future.  I am just sharing with you what works for me.  Please make sure you know your limits when doing any of the exercises I talk about.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2011 by in Peter Waterman's posts.
