garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Where’s the beef?

No sooner had I posted our first entry than I got a message on Facebook. “I don’t see any recipes with meat Waterman, what gives?”

Sure, I used to be a carnivore. I was a fan of a big burger or a well-seared steak. By starting this new diet I am not giving up meat, just simply taking a more proactive role in knowing where my beef came from and how it got from the farm to my plate. Luckily, by searching for and eating meat that is raised in a sustainable manner and is fresher from the farm, you will find yourself eating much tastier meat.

Once again, the Wakefield Farmers Market came to the rescue. One of the vendors, Charlton Orchards, is a provider of pasture-raised beef. Check them out at http://www.charltonorchard.com/. The farm is located about an hour from Boston, and while I have not made a trip out there, it is on my list of things to do.

This beef makes a great simple burger. Just form into a burger, add some salt and pepper, and cook to medium on a hot cast iron skillet. I top the burger with some BBQ sauce or a few slices of avocado.

What are your top burger toppings?

One comment on “Where’s the beef?

  1. Dave Henchy
    October 5, 2011

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2011 by in Peter Waterman's posts.
