garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Good for what ails you

Easy Tomato Soup
Another submission from my sister Jenn.  After some dental surgery today I could use a bowl of this :)

My husband recently came down with his annual post-holiday cold virus, launching me into my post-holiday soup making extravaganza. While I'm pretty familiar with putting together most vegetable soups, I've never 
made my own tomato soup. We most often buy it fresh from the grocery store with a crusty loaf of bread,   throw them in the microwave and oven respectively, and call it a day. Maybe it's the new year breathing   down my neck or the fact that I'd already tackled two different made-from-scratch soups in one week (ambercup squash with lentils as well as a french onion), but when my husband expressed a craving for tomato    soup I decided I was going to whip it up from the ingredients in our kitchen rather than running to the   store. Additionally, I was able to stay in my pajamas.

I'm pleased to report that it was quick, easy, and quite tasty. 
Combined with a toasted cheese sandwich, it has my patient on the mend.

Here's what you'll need:
2 cans diced tomatoes
1 tablespoon olive oil
One small onion, diced
Three cloves of garlic, minced (or more or less to taste)
Pinch of cayenne pepper
Pinch of black pepper
2 cups vegetable broth
1/2 cup cream, optional

I also added some fresh diced tomatoes, but it's not necessary. Not 
long ago I had read an article about the incredible health benefits of 
canned tomatoes, so I heartily advocate their usage (although I will 
note that I buy the sodium-free versions).

First, open the canned tomatoes and drain them, setting the juices 
aside.
Spread the tomatoes on a baking sheet and roast in the oven at 450 for 
fifteen to twenty minutes.

While the tomatoes are roasting, heat your onion and garlic in the oil 
until the onion runs clear. I added the cayenne and black pepper in at 
this stage and let it all cook together for a few minutes before adding 
the tomato juices and vegetable broth. Stir. Add in the roasted 
tomatoes, stir, cover, and let simmer for about fifteen minutes (add the 
cream at this stage if you're using it).

Remove from heat and let cool for a few minutes before blending with 
hand blender. (Or pour into blender.) Serve with a sprinkle of basil on 
top.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2012 by in Jenn Greenaway's posts and tagged , , , .
