garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Workout Wednesday: Chest and Back

Tony Horton calls this workout “The mother of all upper body workouts” and this workout is no joke.  This was my introduction to the P90X family.  I just dug out the workout sheets from Chest and Back to look back at what I was doing when I first started, some 450 days ago.  This was the first time I had done a workout in my house with someone on the TV telling me what to do.

The workout is a 2-round workout, consisting of pushups and pull-ups, a total of 24 exercises in under an hour.  Oh, and this workout is followed by AbRipperX (I will tell you about this one next week).  What I love about the workout is the alternating between the pushing and pulling.  This workout will bring a lot of pain, but it will also bring a lot of results.  Also great is that all the exercises are considered maximum rep workouts.  You do as many pushups in a set as you can, say 30 in round one for the standard pushup or 25 for the military pushups.  Then in round two you may see that some of the sets are less than round one, others are more than round one.  Over the course of the program you will see that your overall numbers increase or the weights you use may increase, which allows you to still get a great workout while you get stronger.

The quote(s) of the workout:

“German potato soup, if that ain’t P90X soup I don’t know what is!”

During a mid-workout break, Tony says

“I don’t want you to run into the other room and get a Krispy Kreme or something else nasty.”  At this point I would not be able to lift my arm high enough to grab a water bottle, let alone a Krispy Kreme donut!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2012 by in Peter Waterman's posts, Workouts and tagged , , , .
