garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Upper body massacre: The 30-15 workout

Since finishing my first round of P90X2 I have decided that I would make my own workout series for the next 30 days or so.  Once the weather gets nicer here in Boston I hope to get more running in.  And now that softball season has started, I have at least one game a week and work as an umpire on another night.  With so much going on, I want to find workouts I can get done in about an hour but give me a tremendous workout.  Time to look back through my P90 library and find workouts to mix and match.  Today, I tackled the Upper Body Massacre workout from Tony Horton’s One-on-One collection, and I paired it with X2 Ab Ripper.

The Upper Body Massacre is Tony Horton, in his home gym, doing a workout of pushups and pull-ups, for about an hour.  That is it.  Nothing fancy.  Plenty of air guitar to procrastinate before the next set.  There are 24 exercises in total (6 pushups, 6 pull-ups, 2 sets of each).  The goal is to get 30 pushups and 15 pull-ups per set.  Since I use resistance bands, I find that 15 pull-ups is doable, however, I have to modify my pushup expectations in order to finish the workout.

You start out with a set of standard pushups, with or without pushup bars (I use them), and follow that set with a  set of wide grip pulls ups.  You repeat these 2 exercises, and now move onto to series 2.  Series 2 is military pushups and chin-ups.  So Tony does Levers, which are by my best judgement impossible to do.  You certainly need a pull-up bar to do it, maybe I will give them a shot on my next run through Breakheart Reservation (there is a workout area about halfway through the run, which is about 3-3.5 miles from my house, needless to say I am already pretty tired by the time I get there).  By the time I was moving into my second set of military pushups I had already broken into a Flop Sweat as Tony would say.

For series 3, wide pushups and close grip pull ups are supposed to give your body a brief break, before moving into series 4, diamond pushups and chin ups.  By series 4, it was time to drop  down to 15 pushups.    Series 5 is stagger pushups, where one hand is out in front of the other, switch every 4 pushups.  I did sets of 16 here, and paired them with switch grip pull-ups (with the bands I have one hand in chin up form, one in pull up form, and switch every 4 pulls).  The final set is 2 pushups using the bars, 2 pushups off the bars, and pair this with palms facing pull ups.  Be sure to take the time to do some ballistic stretching, and then some foam rolling to make sure your muscles can recover from this beast of a workout.

X2 Ab Ripper is a 15 minute ab workout, and it is tough.  All of the moves not only incorporate ab engagement, but also balance.  These 2 workouts together make for a great workout in just over an hour.  With some post routine recovery, I was ready to tackle the rest of the day.  Tomorrow night is yoga class, great way to get ready for another week of work.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2012 by in Healthy living, Peter Waterman's posts, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , .
