garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

This weeks winner: Artichoke calzone

In a hotly contested vote, Artichoke calzone pulled out the victory over Cauliflower Buffalo “Wings.”  As I said last week, I am sure more recipes will make their way up this week, especially since my fried rice recipe was a success!

The artichoke calzone recipe comes from Weight Watchers

(here is the link: http://www.weightwatchers.com/food/rcp/recipepage.aspx?recipeId=52891)

Ingredients:

  • pizza dough (the recipe calls for 1 pound of thawed frozen dough, but you know I will make my own dough, a 50-50 blend of whole wheat and all-purpose flour)
  • 1 cup of tomato sauce (once again, I made my own, but any sauce you like will do)
  • 1 1/3 cups of part-skim shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese
  • 13 3/4 ounces of artichoke heart, drained

Preheat the oven to 425F.  I put my pizza stone in the oven to warm up as well, I think it helps to make the bottom of the calzone have a better crust.

This recipe makes 4 calzones, but you can certainly adjust and make 1 or 2, which is what I plan to do.

Roll the dough out on a lightly floured board. Cover half of the dough with 1/4 cup of sauce, 1/3 cup of mozzarella, 1 tablespoon of Parmesan cheese and 1/4 of the artichokes.  Leave about a 1/2 inch border around the dough.  Fold the dough over the sauce, roll up the edge and crimp with a fork to seal.  Spray the calzone with cooking spray (or use an egg wash of 1 egg and 2 tablespoons of water) to make sure the calzones get a nice golden brown.  Bake for 15 to 20 minutes.

I will certainly post my results from this recipe, stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2012 by in Menus, Peter Waterman's posts, Recipes and tagged , , , .
