garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

My very own Chopped basket

Today marked the first pick up for the late fall share from Farmer Dave’s CSA.  I love supporting a local farm and getting a giant share of fresh vegetables each week.  And this week, because of Hurricane Sandy arriving last week, we received a double share.  While Meghan and I love vegetables there was no way we could eat a double share, so I donated a full share back to the Reading Food Pantry.

Each week I look forward to the share because it is like getting my own Chopped basket.  For those of you unfamiliar with the Food Network show, Chopped, here are basics.  Chefs compete in a 3 round cookoff, each round receiving a basket of secret ingredients that they need to turn into an appetizer, a main course and a dessert.  Sometimes the combinations are mind blowing and very often there are ingredients that I have no idea what they even are.  Yup, this sometimes happens with a CSA share as well.  And I accept the challenge to create something delicious every week.

Let’s see what is fresh this week in the share.

  • Lettuce: I love fresh lettuce.  Quick hint, store it in a bowl with a small amount of water and cover with a plastic storage bag, and the lettuce will last at least 2 weeks (much longer than those bagged lettuces)!
  • Potatoes: the Irish in me can always find something to make with some potatoes.
  • Romanesco: a new favorite from last year, check out my first post about it.
  • Rainbow chard: a deep green leafy vegetable, great for making rollups.
  • Small rainbow peppers: Meghan and I already have an interesting twist on using these, check back in later this week.
  • Cabbage, squash, apples, broccoli and a few other vegetables.

One comment on “My very own Chopped basket

  1. Tammy
    November 5, 2012

    I think it would be a fun idea to have a chopped party with a few friends who also participate in CSA.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2012 by in Healthy living, Peter Waterman's posts and tagged , , , , , , .
