garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Know your veggies

This week was week #2 of the late fall share, and another mystery vegetable arrived in our basket.  Being able to use local vegetables that I have never used before is a challenge but also something I look forward to each week.  This weeks mystery vegetable is the Daikon radish.

KayCee is not sure what to make of the gigantic vegetable

As you can see, we got a rather large Daikon radish.  Just from the sheer size of this radish, I knew this would be a challenge.  Since I never used this before, I decided to read a bit about the Daikon radish and see what I could do with it.  I found many recipes for pickling the radish, and I may certainly try this.  Another idea I had was to slice them thin and bake them, like a chip.

I also found a lot of people said that they could be roasted like any other root vegetable.  Because I had a basket full of root vegetables, I decided this would be my first use for part of the radish.  I decided to modify a recipe from Giada at Home, the Sweet and Savory Root Vegetable Stuffing/Dressing.  You can find that recipe here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/sweet-and-savory-root-vegetable-stuffing-recipe/index.html

As usual, I modified the vegetables that were used and to some extent the amounts, making use of what I had.  I did stop at Whole Foods today to grab some carrots, parsnips and dried cranberries.  The dressing (because it is outside of a turkey) is still in the oven, but my pre-bake sample tasted good, and the house is starting to smell a bit like Thanksgiving.

Here is my recipe, give it a shot, or mix it up with what you have around the house.  Who knows, maybe you will find a new Thanksgiving favorite.

A colorful (and hopefully flavorful) mix of root vegetables ready to bake.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons of unsalted butter
  • 3 carrots, peeled and sliced (I cut them into half moons, and then cut those in half)
  • 5 parsnips, peeled and sliced same as the carrots, about the same amount as well since these were smaller
  • 1 leek, sliced and washed (from the weekly share, wash by simply allowing to sit in a bowl of water and then skimming the leeks off the top)
  • about 1/3 of a very large Daikon radish, sliced
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 3 potatoes, peeled and diced (these were also in the share this week)
  • 2 yellow apples, diced (also from the share)
  • 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable stock
  • 1/2 cup of dried cranberries
  • 2 jumbo eggs, whisked
  • 2-day old baguette, diced
  • 2 sprigs of fresh rosemary, finely chopped
  • all spice, I probably used about 2 teaspoons
  • salt
  • pepper

In a large pot, melt the butter over medium-low heat and add the extra virgin olive oil.  Add the carrots, parsnips, onions, leaks, Daikon radish, potato and apple.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cook for 15 minutes, stirring often, until carrots are softened.  Add the all spice, rosemary and apple cider vinegar, cook for another 5 minutes to allow flavors to combine.  Add more salt and pepper if needed.

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs.  Add the bread and toss to coat.  Add the cranberries.  Pour in the cooked vegetables and mix well to combine.  Pour the entire mixture in a large pan that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.  Pour the vegetable stock over the mixture.  Cover with aluminum foil and bake at 375F for 40 minutes.

Remove the foil and cook for another 15-20 minutes, until slightly browned on the top.  Top the dressing with goat cheese and serve.

I will be sure to update you with the results of this recipe (unfortunately, not all kitchen attempts are successful).

One comment on “Know your veggies

  1. peteandmeg
    November 20, 2012

    The results are in, and while the stuffing turned out very good, the Daikon radish was not a hit. In the future, I would probably not use it but if I did use it, I would certainly cut the radish into smaller pieces.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2012 by in Peter Waterman's posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , .
