garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Are those peppers Habaneros?

Not all my adventures in the kitchen end up as delicious successes.  I have to admit, I have had my fair share (in fact, probably more than my fair share) of straight to the garbage disposal meals.  I have created several meals that have received the comment, “well, you certainly don’t have to make that again.”  And Meghan and I have practically every sub and pizza place in a 5-mile radius on speed dial.

I cannot understate the importance of knowing your ingredients.  We received a small basket of peppers in our CSA share last week.  Meghan ended up using one in a sauce last week and I asked her if it was hot, like spicy hot.  Nope, not spicy hot.  So, this week we decided to make some goat cheese stuffed poppers.  The idea was to stuff the peppers with goat cheese, batter them with a beer batter and fry them.

Misstep #1: I have never battered a pepper.  Seems the slippery skin of the pepper is not conducive to receiving the batter and retaining it during the frying process.  Round one resulted in a pot of warm oil full of fried batter bits and 4 uncooked peppers.  Fail.

Well, since we cannot fry the peppers, let’s go ahead and bake them.  Stuffed peppers on a baking sheet, into a 450F oven for 5-10 minutes.  Looks like a success.

Misstep #2: Know your ingredient.  One bite and I knew I was doomed.  The fire hit my lips, and then the pepper started to fall apart.  Before I knew it I had 3/4 of the pepper in my mouth.  My tongue was on fire.  I immediately pounded the beer I had on the table next to me.  Then chased that with a bottle of water.  3 ice cubes.  An ice cream cone.  Will this pain ever stop!!!  A piece of bread.  Some more ice cubes.  The pain started to subside.  The numbness was going away.  Fail.

Now that I survived this epic kitchen fail I am better prepared for my next mystery ingredient.  Always know your ingredient.  Take the time to do a little research, maybe even taste the ingredient before trying to showcase it in a dish.  This is all part of what I love about cooking, even though this was in no way near a success, I am ready to get back in the kitchen and start cooking again.  Please pass me a cup of milk, I think I feel the burn coming back.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
