garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Pumpkin cream cheese swirl cake

Sometimes I see a picture of a recipe online but am not able to remember where it came from or simply cannot find the recipe itself so I have to try to put together the recipe myself.  This happened the other night when Meghan saw a photo of pumpkin cream cheese swirl bars on Pinterest.  I decided that I would make these for dinner with some friends last night.  But of course I could not find the photo again as I hunted around.  In addition, it was a Friday night.  It had been a long week and I really didn’t want to make a dessert that required 20 ingredients and a bunch of steps to put it together.  Instead, I took parts of 2 recipes I was able to find and put them together to make “5 ingredient, 10 step pumpkin cream cheese swirl cake.”  Judging by the clean plates and the empty cake pan, I think the recipe was a hit!

Ingredients

DSC_0013

This is pretty much all it takes, just add some 10x sugar and vanilla extract

  1. a box of Dunkin Hines cake mix (I used a yellow cake, but the spice cake mix would be good too)
  2. a 14oz can of pumpkin puree
  3. 1/4 cup of 10x sugar
  4. 8oz of cream cheese, softened
  5. vanilla extract, maybe a 1/2 teaspoon

Putting it all together

Even got a little help from my buddy

Even got a little help from my buddy

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F
  2. In a large bowl, combine the cake mix and pumpkin puree
  3. Mix to combine
  4. In a stand mixer, combine the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla extract
  5. Mix on medium speed to combine
  6. Pour the cake/pumpkin mix into an 8×8 cake pan
  7. Drop a couple of spoonfuls of the cream cheese mixture on top of the cake batter
  8. Using a spatula, swirl in the cream cheese to the cake batter
  9. Bake for about 45 minutes (it is a pretty thick cake, bake until a toothpick inserted comes out clean)
  10. Allow to cool, slice into 9 pieces and serve (you could also frost with additional cream cheese frosting!)
Pumpkin cream cheese swirl cake

Pumpkin cream cheese swirl cake

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 1, 2012 by in Healthy living, Peter Waterman's posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , .
