garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

What a difference a day makes: 2013 New Years blog

2013 started much the same as 2012, with a dip into the Atlantic Ocean after running a 5K.

A cold dip in the Atlantic Ocean, refreshing

A cold dip in the Atlantic Ocean, refreshing

But then the following day Meghan and I headed off to the warmth of Mexico for a brief, but much needed, vacation.  In the matter of 2 days I “swam” in the north Atlantic Ocean with a temperature of about 47F to the Caribbean with a temperature of around 78F.

A dip in the Caribbean, much better.

A dip in the Caribbean, much better.

This, paired with the newfound relaxation on vacation, inspired my New Years resolution to reduce stress.  This year, when something stresses me out, I plan to take a moment and write down what exactly bothers me.  Then, the next day, if I still feel bothered by what I wrote down then it is something that is more than a simple stress.  This will allow me to see what sorts of things stress me out, or at least used to stress me out.  I will then have specific stresses that I can work on addressing.  Oh, and I plan to run more races this year, already got another one on the calendar.

One comment on “What a difference a day makes: 2013 New Years blog

  1. Danny @ 1227 Fost
    January 13, 2013

    Congrats on the race (and future races) and for taking the cold water plunge! 🙂 I like your plan for handling stress – sounds like a great way to deal with issues instead of letting them build up and consume you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2013 by in Peter Waterman's posts.
