garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

My 2013 cooking challenge

In Julie and Julia, Amy Adams’ Julie Powell challenges herself to cook her way through Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.  Since seeing the movie I have had the idea to try to cook my way through a cookbook as well.  Of course, Mastering the Art of French Cooking is probably not the book for me, since it is full of chicken and beef recipes.

This holiday season several new cookbooks found their way into our collection.  Perhaps one of these books could serve as the inspiration for cooking in 2013.

  • Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa Foolproof
  • The Complete Italian Vegetarian Cookbook
  • Vegan Family Meals
  • Flour Water Salt Yeast: The fundamentals of artisan bread and pizza

I have already started preparing all the different breads in Flour Water Salt Yeast 🙂

The challenge for me is to continue to find healthy ways to recreate dishes that I used to enjoy, and to make meals that can be made vegetarian.  I will continue to search for new ingredients, new spices, and try to create new meals to share this year.  With a large collection of cookbooks in my library I should not have any trouble staying inspired.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2013 by in Peter Waterman's posts.
