garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Post 200: Going gluten-free

Last week Meghan and I started eating a gluten-free diet.  After one week I have to say that it was not as hard as I thought it would be.  I also have to admit that I do feel a bit sharper at work.  Lots of people talk about the gluten fog, and maybe I have emerged from that.  Of course, going gluten-free means having to find alternatives for many of our favorite foods.

I made chilaquiles last night, and instead of our usual tortillas for making chips I had to use corn tortillas.  Not too hard of a substitute.  This week we also made waffles with gluten-free flour, not too shabby.  And we have already been incorporating a lot of gluten-friendly alternatives to dishes like cous cous, by using quinoa.

Of course, Meghan and I are both fans of pizza.  So being able to make a delicious gluten-free pizza would be key. Tonight I made my first attempt.  Using a basic bread recipe from the book Flour Water Salt Yeast, I replaced all-purpose flour with a gluten-free all-purpose flour from Bob’s Red Mill.  Additionally, I had to add some corn starch to help bring the mixture together.  In the end, I think the pizza was a success.  The dough tasted a bit more like a french bread pizza, but with a few more tweaks, I think we will have a standby recipe for dough.

DSC_0063

Ingredients

  • 250 grams of gluten-free all-purpose flour (Bob’s Red Mill brand)
  • 180 grams of water, warm to the touch
  • 5 grams of salt
  • 1 gram of yeast
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of corn starch
  • 1/3 cup of tomato sauce
  • 1 large ball of mozzarella, sliced
  • grey sea salt and Parmesan cheese for sprinkling on the pizza

In a large bowl, combine the flour and water.  Mix with your hands until just combined.  Cover and set aside for 30 minutes.

Sprinkle in the salt and yeast, mix in using your hands.  Fold the dough over several times to incorporate.  (Flour Water Salt Yeast does a great job explaining all the details of preparing a dough by hand.)

Set the dough aside to rise, about 6 hours.  During the first hour, fold the dough 2-3 times.

After about 4 hours, add in the corn starch, mixing the dough to incorporate the corn starch into the dough.  I think the corn starch could have been added right at the beginning, but I added it at this point because I thought the dough was loose and needed something to bring it together.

Prepare some tomato sauce.  I used a jarred variety, but added a roasted red pepper and some fresh basil.

Preheat the oven to 525F.

In a cast-iron skillet, add some corn meal to cover the bottom.  Turn the dough into the skillet and push to cover the bottom.

DSC_0058

Bake at 525F for 8 minutes.  Remove from the oven, add the sauce and sliced mozzarella, and continue to bake for about 10 minutes, until dough is browned and mozzarella becomes slightly bubbly.

DSC_0060

Serve with a salad (ours tonight contained olives, artichoke hearts, tomato, chick peas and feta cheese with a balsamic dressing).

DSC_0064

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 9, 2013 by in Healthy living, Peter Waterman's posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , .
