garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Inspiration: Sole Meuniere

Last month Meg and I went to dinner at Aquitaine in the South End of Boston.  The French-inspired bistro setting offers a menu ranging from the Steak Frites to my dinner selection, Moules Frites (mussels with fries) with a whole lot of other tempting options in between.  Meg ordered the Lemon Sole Meuniere, and it was delicious.  It also served as the inspiration for my at home restaurant redux.

For the Sole Meuniere recipe I turned to a Chicken Meuniere recipe from Giada de Laurentiis (http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/chicken-meuniere-with-tomato-and-parsley-sauce-recipe/index.html).  I went to my local Whole Foods market to pick up some sole the night of dinner.  However, when I arrived I saw that they were not carrying any sole that day.  It is always good to ask the experts, so I asked the guy behind the counter what would be a good substitution for the sole.  He suggested the flounder.  So, armed with 3 flounder filets (about half a pound), I headed home to attempt to recreate Meg’s dinner.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 a pound of flounder
  • 1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 1/3 cup of flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free flour)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 3 roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1/4 cup of kalamata olive, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons of capers, drained
  • 1/3 cup of white wine
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup of fresh parsley, chopped

In a pie dish (I use this because it is flat, large and shallow), add the flour and season with salt and pepper.  Season the flounder with salt and pepper, then lightly coat with the seasoned flour.

In a saute pan, melt the butter and warm the oil over medium heat.  Add the flour-coated fish and cook for 3-5 minutes on each side, until lightly browned.  Remove the fish and set aside.

IMG_2902

In the same saute pan, combine the tomato, kalamata olives and capers, scraping off any bits left from the browning fish.  Add the lemon zest and wine.  Bring to a low boil and then turn down to a simmer and cook for about 5 minutes.  Stir in the parsley and season with salt and pepper.

IMG_2903

Add the fish back into the sauce and allow to warm up for 2 minutes.

IMG_2904

I prepared some jasmine rice to serve the fish and sauce over.  Plate a serving of rice onto the middle of a dish.  Top with a filet of flounder and pour some of the sauce over the top.

IMG_2905

So how do I do in recreating the dish?  I think the clean plates of Meg and I suggest I did a pretty good job.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2013 by in Peter Waterman's posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
