garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Helpful hint for gluten-free baking

As readers of this blog know, Meghan and I have begun reducing our gluten intake. While this was partially due to a period of time when we thought Meghan had a gluten sensitivity, another reason was due to some eye-opening facts learned when I read the book Wheat Belly. I plan to share some of this information in the near future, but today I wanted to share a helpful tip that Meghan found in a magazine a week or so ago.
Just because you are going gluten-free or reduced gluten does not mean you have to cut out all baked goods from your diet, you just might have to make a few more things on your own. I have made gluten-free pasta which tastes better than any boxed version we had tried. I have used cornmeals and some gluten-free flours for breading items such as fish that are lightly fried in oil. However, my attempts a gluten-free baking have been mostly unsuccessful. Keep in mind that for every recipe that finds its way to a post, there is at least one that fails the kitchen test.
But back to my gluten-free baking and Meghan’s tip.
When baking with grain-free flours like coconut and almond, separate the eggs and whip the whites to soft peaks. It makes the notoriously heavy flours light and cakelike.
This is a simple and great tip that I will try with my next baking recipe. Hopefully it will help to counter the results I have found thus far; cakes that do not rise and are dense. So stay tuned, hope to have some good recipes to share in the coming weeks.

2 comments on “Helpful hint for gluten-free baking

  1. thesassyapron
    May 6, 2013

    If you search paleo dessert recipes, you’ll find a lot of grain-free baking recipes! I haven’t tried separating the yolk and whites, I’ll have to do that next time.

    • peteandmeg
      May 6, 2013

      Thank you for the note, I will definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2013 by in Peter Waterman's posts, Recipes and tagged , , .
