garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

I’m back after a much needed vacation

Sea World San Diego

Sea World San Diego

After spending a week in San Diego and Thousand Oaks, I am back to the grind.  And with that means no more dining out or attending conference dinners.  Time to get back in the kitchen and try some new recipes.  This week Meg and I are trying out several new recipes and new ingredients, and want to know which ones you want to see.  So, here we go with another poll.

This week we try our hand with a barley recipe.  Having never cooked with barley before, and not really even eaten it, we were not sure what to expect.  We made the barley corn salad last night, and have to report that it was delicious.  I even took along leftovers for lunch today.  Along side the corn salad were some portobello, red pepper and goat cheese wraps.  Goat cheese makes everything taste better.

Tonight we made the spaghetti squash with avocado cream, and I have to report that there are no leftovers.  This is a great gluten-free recipe.  Meg said, “I never would have thought to make a sauce with avocado, and then put it on top of spaghetti squash,” but it certainly worked.  Later this week we will make some red peppers stuffed with quinoa and vegetables.  Oh, and I am also making up a batch of golden Oreo vanilla ice cream tonight!

2 comments on “I’m back after a much needed vacation

  1. Rebecca Knott
    May 30, 2013

    I missed the voting on this one but I would have voted for the spaghetti squash with avocado cream sauce! I think I might even get my mid-western, meat-loving husband to try that one!

    • peteandmeg
      May 31, 2013

      Rebecca, I will definitely post that recipe. Making spaghetti squash portobello mushroom pizzas tonight, we will see how those turn out.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2013 by in Healthy living, Menus, Peter Waterman's posts and tagged , , , , , , , , .
