garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

When life hands you lemons, make popsicles (guest blog from Meg)

Sometimes I impress myself in the kitchen.  Sometimes, however, I even seem to impress my husband, Pete.  That’s pretty hard to do considering he’s a great cook and baker and I, well, I stink at following directions and cooking just about anything other than soup.  But just the other day something miraculous happened as I was making popsicles – and then – it happened again… I impressed my husband in the kitchen.  Get your minds out of the gutters friends; I’m talking about lemons.

The popsicle recipe called for lemons, one of the most widely used ingredients in our kitchen and hopefully yours too.  I had to juice three lemons, easy, right?  Yeah, right.  If you’re me then you’ll probably forget to zest the lemon before you cut it only to end up shaving your knuckles with the zester, losing all the lemon seeds in whatever it is you’re cooking and writhing in pain because the acid is burning every cut on your newly shorn hands.  This is my life; this is why Pete cooks our meals while I drink wine and watch.

But I’ve been paying attention when my favorite chef’s on the Food Network work with lemons and this time I’ve got a few tricks and maybe a good recipe too!

Trick #1…

Are you ready?….

Here it is…

In order to maximize the juice from each lemon, roll it on the counter 8 or 10 times.  This will break up the inside and release some juices before you even have to squeeze it.  Then, use a handy lemon-juicing tool to help you along.

Roll the lemon on the counter 8-10 times before juicing

Roll the lemon on the counter 8-10 times before juicing

Amazing, huh?  Is your mind blown yet?  Well if not, then hold on for Trick #2!

Trick #2…

Is the suspense killing you yet?  Ok, here it is:

To avoid the inevitable ‘seeds in the batter’ routine, use your salad spinner.  Just juice your lemon over the spinner to catch the seeds and pour your juice into your mixture worry-free.

Juice the lemon over your salad spinner and never fish for seeds again

Juice the lemon over your salad spinner and never fish for seeds again

Genius, right?  I know what you’re thinking, just like the wine that comes in a purse, why didn’t I think of that?!  Exactly!

So now that you’ve got a few handy dandy tricks up your sleeve, put them to use making Lemon & Rum Dulce de Leche Popsicles.  Of course you can leave out the rum for the kiddos, but where’s the fun for the adults?

Lemon & Rum Dulce de Leche Popsicles

Makes about 10 pops

Ingredients
  • 1 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 1 cup soymilk
  • 1 can of sweetened condensed milk
  • ½ cup fresh lemon juice (about 3 lemons)
  • 2 shooters of rum

Directions

Combine all ingredients.  Pour into molds.  Freeze at least 4 hours.  Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2013 by in Healthy living, Meghan Champagne's posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , .
