garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Homemade sprouted whole wheat bread

Earlier this year I read the book Wheatbelly, and I have to say that it was an eye-opening read.  The scientist in me was amazed by the sheer magnitude of genetic manipulation that has occurred in wheat over just the past several decades.  I also began to gain a better understanding of celiac disease and gluten intolerance, and how gluten can have wide health impacts on healthy individuals.  In fact, Meghan and I went on a low gluten diet, which we continue to maintain.  While I do not yet know the effect this has had on my cholesterol levels, I can speak to the fact that my midsection is looking much better without adding in hundreds of reps of crunches.

After months of basically swearing off sandwich bread, we had come to find Ezekiel bread.  These breads are made from sprouted grains, and proclaim to have lower glycemic indexes than your average supermarket sandwich bread.  Of course, I still missed the smell of homemade breads baking in our oven, so I did a quick Google search to find out where I could order some sprouted flour from.  I found several sites, but since this was my first attempt using this flour to make bread, and given that I had difficulties in making pasta with various gluten-free flour options, I elected to order my sprouted whole wheat flour from King Arthur.

IMG_3773

The package arrived late last week, and this weekend I grabbed my trusty bread baking book and set off to make a loaf of artisan whole wheat bread.  I have to say, the results were surprisingly good, with just a few minor modifications needed for the next iteration.

Sprouted flours have several health benefits over conventional refined flours.  Here are 5 benefits from http://www.livestrong.com/article/154400-benefits-of-sprouted-wheat-bread/

  • more protein, vitamins and minerals than refined flours
  • lower glycemic index
  • less fat
  • easier to digest
  • less gluten

The bread recipe comes from the book Flour Water Salt Yeast, a great book, packed with artisan bread recipes.  For this loaf, I used the basic Saturday white bread recipe.  I started preparing the dough around 11AM, and the loaf came out of the oven about 7PM.  The great thing about the recipe, besides being able to make a delicious loaf of bread in a day, is that there are only 4 ingredients needed.  I definitely recommend picking up the book if you want to learn how to make homemade breads and pizza doughs.

IMG_3785

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2013 by in Peter Waterman's posts, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
