garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

You can’t make lentil soup without lentils

If you have been checking in to my blog regularly you know that for most recipes I have to modify because I do not have one or more ingredients.  Often I modify an ingredient in an attempt to make the recipe a bit healthier.  Sometimes I just reduce the amount of a particular ingredient and there is no flavor difference (most recipes call for too much olive oil). But the other day I was preparing to make some lentil soup when I realized I was missing one key ingredient, the lentils!

securedownload

Easy and delicious lentil soup

I had managed to go to 2 stores during my morning shopping run.  At the first store, the girl at the checkout had asked me if I was able to find everything.  “Yes” I assured her.  And looking at my list, with items crossed off from stop #1, it was clear that I had grabbed what I needed there.  Off to store #2.

Upon reaching the checkout I was once again asked by the checkout clerk if I had found everything OK.  “Yes I did, and probably a few things I really didn’t need as well” I replied.  So, with a handful of bags in tow I came home and unpacked the groceries.  I didn’t even notice the lack of lentils as I unpacked.  It was not until a few hours later when I went to get things ready that I saw my oversight.

A few muttered curses, and and I was off to store #3 to pick up a package of lentils.  The recipe is a kitchen stand-by, super easy to make, and delicious.  Plus, Meg and I make an extra large batch and pack it away for lunches during the week, a great time saver.  I still can’t understand how I managed to bring a list, with LENTILS clearly written on it, to 2 stores and came home without them.  Maybe I was distracted by the thought of what I was making to go with the soup!

Soft pretzel rolls

Soft pretzel rolls

Here is the link to Ina Garten’s lentil soup recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/lentil-vegetable-soup-recipe.html

Here is the link to Mel’s soft pretzel rolls: http://www.melskitchencafe.com/2013/10/amazing-soft-pretzel-rolls.html

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2014 by in Healthy living, Peter Waterman's posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
