garbanzopalooza

A blog by ordinary people about living an extraordinary life

Quick and easy homemade gourmet pizza

Last night Meg and I had a hankering for some gourmet pizza.  Since I love to cook, I am always more than willing to put the time in myself and make a great meal instead of paying someone else to do it.  Besides, while I know there are places nearby where I can get a great pizza, I am often left thinking that they didn’t put enough toppings, or the pizza was too oily, or the crust wasn’t crispy enough.  Now we had just returned from a weekend away, and between laundry and getting ready to come back to work, we were not in the mood to make our own dough and prep up a bunch of toppings.  Since I had to go shopping anyway, I added a few items to my shopping list and in no time when I got home had a delicious gourmet pizza to enjoy with some drinks and Game of Thrones.

securedownload

Shopping list

  • pizza dough (I got white, but you can usually find wheat dough as well, and even shorter time for prep you can get pre-made doughs like Boballi)
  • fresh mozzarella (I got a local mozzarella, and a 4 ounce ball leaves some leftovers for tomato/basil/mozz sandwiches for lunch the next day)
  • fresh basil (nothing really goes better on the pizza just before serving)
  • marinated artichoke hearts with peppers
  • a few cloves of roasted garlic

I already had a little bit of sauce in the fridge, so I was ready to go.

I put the pizza stone in the oven and preheated to 450F.  As the oven was preheating I rolled out the dough and let it rest. When the oven was heated, I took out the stone, dusted it with corn meal and placed the dough on it.  Then I quickly added the toppings: about 4 tablespoons of sauce, the artichoke heart, peppers and garlic, 5-6 pieces of sliced mozzarella.  Back into the oven for about 10 minutes, until the cheese was melted and the dough browned.  I pulled the pizza out of the oven and sprinkled it with some sea salt.  After letting it rest for 5 minutes, I topped it with fresh sliced basil and cut it into 8 slices.

This is a quick and easy weeknight meal, and you can always jazz a pizza up any way you choose.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2014 by in Peter Waterman's posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , .
